Wednesday, June 9, 2010

Bad karma doesn't outweigh 49 years wait; Chicago wins Stanley Cup

And Chicago captain Jonathan Toews, aka Porky Pig, wins the Conn Smythe Trophy. Of course, the makers of this since-painted-over mural had ESP on their side - poor portrait skills notwithstanding.

Still, it's going to be a controversial decision, considering that Toews didn't have a single goal in the Cup Finals, and only 3 assists. Yeah yeah, he's tied with Denis Savard for most playoff points in a postseason in Chicago history... but still. Brian Campbell, Ben Eager, and Brett Sopel each had more goals in the Finals - one, to be exact. Hell, Blair Betts, Arron Asham, Matt Carle, and James van Riemsdyk each had a Stanley Cup Final goal for the losing Philadelphia Flyers.

Oh, and Ville Frickin' Leino had THREE goals and SIX assists in the Finals.

Just saying.

On a more conciliatory note, congratulations to all of the Blackhawks fans still in possession of a Stan Mikita, Bobby Hull, or Glenn Hall vintage jersey - you've literally waited longer than any other fans alive to see this day.

Also, kudos to former Blackhawk, Flyer and Shark Jeremy Roenick for making me get all teary-eyed with his stirring anecdote from the '92 Cup Final and his weepy admission, "I never won it."

Annoying trivia = the Chicago Blackhawks are the only team to have beaten the San Jose Sharks en route to a Cup victory, if that means anything. Actually, it means I hate them all the more now - especially The Other Dustin.

Actually, Byfuglien would have made a better Conn Smythe winner, in my opinion = 3 Finals goals, including one game-winner; 3 assists in the Finals; and most importantly, 5 game-winning goals in the playoffs, including the series clincher against San Jose.

The devil should have been given his due.

That concludes this NHL season; the 2010-11 NHL schedule will be released by the end of the month.

Go Sharks.

No comments: