Wednesday, September 10, 2008

Metallica - Death Magnetic

The latest album by Metallica comes out this Friday (the band is eschewing the traditional Tuesday). Its title = Death Magnetic. Not a bad title... certainly more inventive than St. Anger, their previous album (2003). Rick Rubin produced the album (Bob Rock is on the rocks, apparently), which contains the following songs:

1. That Was Just Your Life

2. The End of the Line

3. Broken, Beaten & Scarred

4. The Day That Never Comes

5. All Nightmare Long

7. The Unforgiven III

8. The Judas Kiss

9. Suicide & Redemption

10. My Apocalypse

The Unforgiven III??? Ugh... II was bad enough (and I has its detractors). "A rose is a rose" (etc.), so I don't put too much stock in song titles... but most of these sound decent (from a testosterone-rich speed metal perspective).

Two days remain until it comes out worldwide... Given how much is at stake for Metallica's reputation ("Suicide & Redemption" could be a metaphor for their career, if this album is a success), I think I speak for most Metallica fans when I say that the one thought on our minds is...

Please... don't... suck.
UPDATE = It doesn't suck! What's more - it's even GOOD! Even "The Unforgiven III"...

Metallica will be on tour this winter with Lamb of God and The Sword (how I love The Sword).

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Metallica - Death Magnetic (2008)

Track listing

1. "That Was Just Your Life" 7:08
2. "The End of the Line" 7:52
3. "Broken, Beat & Scarred" 6:25
4. "The Day That Never Comes" 7:56
5. "All Nightmare Long" 7:57
6. "Cyanide" 6:39
7. "The Unforgiven III" 7:46
8. "The Judas Kiss" 8:00
9. "Suicide & Redemption" 9:57
10. "My Apocalypse" 5:01


Genuine 320kbps mp3 download from Mission Metallica

The following was ripped from my own CD, purchased 09-12-08

mp3@192kbps CBR rip

FLAC (Lossless) rip

Guitar Hero III verison ripped from the video game

Track listing

1. "That Was Just Your Life" 7:06
2. "The End of the Line" 7:57
3. "Broken, Beat & Scarred" 6:28
4. "The Day That Never Comes" 7:55
5. "All Nightmare Long" 7:55
6. "Cyanide" 6:36
7. "The Unforgiven III" 7:47
8. "The Judas Kiss" 7:58
9. "Suicide & Redemption" 9:53
10. "My Apocalypse" 4:57
11. "Suicide & Redemption" [James Herfield Solo Version][*] 9:52
12. "Suicide & Redemption" [Kirk Hammett Solo Version][*] 9:53

mp3@320kbps CBR

Metallica - Demo Magnetic (2008)

Track listing

01. Hi Guy (That Was Just Your Life)
02. Neinteen (The End Of The Line)
03. Black Squirrel (Broken, Beaten & Scarred)
04. Casper (The Day That Never Comes)
05. Flamingo (All Nightmare Long)
06. German Soup (Cyanide)
07. UN3 (The Unforgiven III)
08. Gymbag (The Judas Kiss)
09. K2LU (Suicide & Redemption)
10. Ten (My Apocalypse)

ripped to mp3@320kbps CBR